Hi, I'm John in Austin, TX

I made pooldash! I used to care for pools, and now I’m a software engineer (I’ve worked at a few companies, including Dropbox, Cisco, and a bunch of startups). I also made other pool-care apps, including:

• Pool Doctor
  • Pool Cloud
  • a few enterprise-y apps for pool service companies

We (wife, kid, dog, me) live in Austin, TX. It’s great!

I made pooldash for fun, but I hope it grows large enough that I can do this full-time soon. I still get genuinely excited when even a single person uses the app – it’s fun to build useful things, and I love learning more about the strangers all over the world that use my software… I think it’s so cool!

Hi everyone, Dirk from Thailand here.
Ive been using pool doctor for years! Its amazing… thanks very much.
I would like to know what happened to the support with pool doctor? I have sent numerous requests for support over the years but have never received anything in return.
Will pooldash be the same?

1 Like

Hey Dirk – thanks for using Pool Doctor, Pool Cloud, and now asking about pooldash. I just looked through my old emails and I see your support requests from over the years – sorry for not responding!

I really, really hope that pooldash will be better. I’ve used a different business model, better tech, and a forum for customer support… here’s why I think each will help:

1) Subscriptions: apps require ongoing support & development, so free apps (and 1-time-purchases) aren’t very sustainable. I hope that I can grow my subscriber base (currently at 13 people) to a point where it justifies a significant part of my time, or (ideally) becomes my full-time job.